Friday, June 14, 2024
HomeNewsPresident Ruto failed to honor his promise of 50:50 slots in the...

President Ruto failed to honor his promise of 50:50 slots in the cabinet

By Evans Kibe

Claim: Kenya kwanza to have a 50:50 cabinet slots to both women and men.

During the campaign period President William Ruto promised to name a gender equality government should Kenya Kwanza ascent to power. And with over sixty day since being sworn in the president name his cabinet and the Kenya kwanza government started to take shape.

William Ruto with a section of Kenya Kwanza women after signing of women charter in June 2022

Two weeks after taking oath of office as Kenya’s fifth head of state, President William Ruto unveiled his Cabinet members. According to Article 100 of the 2010 constitution, Parliament shall enact legislation to promote the representation of women, persons with disabilities, youth, ethnic and other minorities; and marginalized communities.

William Ruto addressing press after signing a women charter at Nyayo national stadium

Addressing the nation from State House Nairobi, the President unpacked to Kenyans the men and women who he entrusted with the responsibility of delivering his manifesto to Kenyans. The nominated Cabinet Secretaries were vetted in parliament.

William Ruto being presented with a copy of women charter he signed

Below is the list of his cabinet members:

Prime Cabinet Secretary – Musalia Mudavadi
2. Interior – Kithure Kindiki
3. National Treasury-Njuguna Ndung’u
4. Public Service and Gender – Aisha Jumwa
5. Defence – Aden Duale
6. Water, Sanitation & Irrigation – Alice Wahome
7. Foreign and Diaspora Affairs -Alfred Mutua
8. Trade – Moses Kuria
9. EAC – Rebecca Miano
10. Roads – Onesmus Kipchumba Murkomen
11. Lands – Zacharia Mwangi Njeru
12. Tourism – Peninah Malonza
13. Agriculture – Mithika Linturi1
4. Education – Ezekiel Machogu
15. Energy and Petroleum – Davis Chirchir
16. Sports – Ababu Namwamba
17. Cooperatives and MSMEs – Simon Chelugui
18. Mining – Salim Mvurya
19. Labour – Florence Bore
20. Health – Susan Wafula
21. Communication – Eliud Owalo
o22. Environment & forestry – Roselinda Soipan Tuya
Attorney General – Justin Muturi
National Security adviser – Monica Juma
Secretary to the cabinet – Mercy Wanjau

From the list of 24, only nine women were nominated representing 37.5%.This is against the women charter he signed during the campaigns period where he promises a 50:50 cabinet between men and women. The charter was signed on June 10th at the Nyayo national Stadium in the capital city Nairobi.

The verdict of this promise is that the president failed to honor his promise of 50:50 slots in the cabinet.



This fact check was published by Mtaani Radio with support from Code for Africa’s PesaCheck and African Fact-Checking Alliance.



Kamadi Amata
Kamadi Amata
I am a digital content creator with niche in Health, politics, and Human Interest Features.

Most Popular

Recent Comments

Solverwp- WordPress Theme and Plugin


adapazarı escort Eskişehir escort bayan